News & Announcements

RELIABLE BOOK BLOGGERS/REVIEWERS NEEDED!
If you love to read and review fiction (any and all genres and sub-genres) and showcase the amazing authors who write it on your blog, then click HERE to sign-up to become a member of the CBLS Promotions Hosting Team today!
Showing posts with label m/m. Show all posts
Showing posts with label m/m. Show all posts

Monday, October 8, 2012

"Revealed" by Lissa Matthews

Title: Revealed
Author: Lissa Matthews
Series: Masked series, #3
Publisher: Self Published
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: 53 pages
Heat Rating: Erotic
Rating: 4.5 Cups

Available at:
Amazon | ARe | B&N

Blurb:
The mask has come off, the closet door opened, and the acceptance in revelation has begun...
Thor sent Bobby home from Abyss with a few conditions. Have the hard conversations with those closest to him and arrive at Thor’s home, midnight, the following weekend. He’s been instructed not to call, not to email, not to contact Thor in any way. Simply do as told or...not.

Bobby comes to Thor a different man, changed somewhat for having come out of the closet to his parents and his best friend. The weight of his secret longings has been lifted and his desire to begin a relationship full of exploration and submission with a man is within his grasp. All it takes is following Thor’s orders, submitting to Thor’s rules, offering himself up to Thor’s dominance.

Can Bobby truly give over his tightly held onto control to the one man who drives him to his knees? Can Thor look beyond Bobby’s womanizer reputation to the longing for acceptance within?

Find out in, Revealed, the third installment in Lissa Matthews’ Masked series.


Emma's Review:

Revealed is third installment of the Masked series. You need to start at the beginning to truly appreciate this one. It's really a journey rather than serial type story. Thor and Bobby are both in unknown waters and they have both taken risks to be together. This is a great story and so very emotional. The sex is very hot but there's such a connection between the two. There's a sense of realism in the book. The author allows the reader feel all the uncertainty and wonder of Thor and Bobby's first sexual encounter. No perfect Doms or subs, just two people drawn to each other. Great read! When combined with Masked and Unmasked, Revealed tells the a powerful story about love and trust. I hope there are more to come.


--

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to Coffee Beans & Love Scenes (“CBLS”) Reviews free of charge by the author in exchange for an honest review of this title. No money has been exchanged for this review. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of any other CBLS reviewer or this blog’s owner, editor or administrator.

"The 18th Floor" by Margie R. Church

Title: The 18th Floor
Author: Margie R. Church
Publisher: Sizzler Editions
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: 120 pages
Heat Rating: Erotic
Rating: 3 Cups

Available at:
Amazon | Sizzler Editions | B&N

Blurb:
Alexa Robbins is so consumed by her career, the only sex she has is listening to her nymphomaniac neighbors go at it. When Sebastian Law discovers her in the eighteenth floor conference room early one morning, the table becomes a pallet for making one of her fantasies come true. Will he enjoy her extensive repertoire?

On the outside, Sebastian appears a buttoned-up, well-dressed, techno geek. Inside, he's a Dom with a hearty appetite for all types of carnal pleasures. He risks alienating Alexa by revealing his true nature, but he won't keep the secret for long.

Together, they explore all the things that turn them on. And discover whether they're a perfect match for life beyond the 18th Floor.

Content advisories: bi-racial m/f, m/m, BDSM, ménage, spanking, flogging, oral sex, anal sex, voyeurism, exhibitionism, sex in public places, phone sex.


Denise's Review:

The 18th Floor tells the story of an overworked Rocket Scientist Alexa and her journey with the very sexy IT consultant Sebastian.

After an encounter in the 18th Floor conference room Sebi as he is called takes Alexa on a journey into his world as a Dom.

Overall, I enjoyed this story.

There were some well written hot scenes, the story did develop beyond the sex but for me I personally needed more.

Sebi speaks to Alexa about how she must trust him for this relationship to work; but when it comes to key aspects of her life, like doing something that could led her crazy ex-boyfriend to her, Alexa neglects to tell him. This to me left me feeling like the relationship had no matured yet.

As an example of let wanting more Alexa buys Sebi as gift, the story tell you about it; then he uses it but you do not see his reaction to getting it.

Alexa also speaks to herself about herself and her fantasies but the book never has her telling Sebi most of them, I found this disappointing. I found myself wanting Alexa to fully trust Sebi, to open up and share her desires. So again a place I was left wanting more.

The BDSM was on the light side of the spectrum and Ms Church did a good job showing that Sebi cared about Alex and wanted her to see what his lifestyle was. There was a whipping scene but it did not involve the main characters and again the authors outlined Alexa's enjoyment of the scene and Sebi's desire to show her.

For me the story felt incomplete, early on Sebi says he would consider moving around less if he meet the right girl but the story did not tie that up for me.

I much prefer to see a happy down the road, this to me felt like happy for now and happy after a major incident. The ending felt a bit rushed and I was left thinking that's it, thats the end.

I will read another book by Ms Church as this book had potential.


--

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to Coffee Beans & Love Scenes (“CBLS”) Reviews free of charge by the author in exchange for an honest review of this title. No money has been exchanged for this review. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of any other CBLS reviewer or this blog’s owner, editor or administrator.

Sunday, October 7, 2012

"Morning Report" by Sue Brown

Title: Morning Report
Author: Sue Brown
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Sub-Genre: Western Romance
Length: 220 pages
Heat Rating: Erotic
Rating: 4.5 Cups

Available at:
Amazon | Dreamspinner Press | B&N | ARe

Blurb:
A decade on from their first kiss, Luke Murray is more in love with Simon every day. Running the Lost Cow ranch for Luke’s parents, they keep their heads down and get along with the locals, even if Luke is known for being a hothead. Then one day they discover the local store owners refuse to serve them.

They’re bewildered until Luke’s mom tells them the new pastor has targeted the couple in his sermons. Suddenly Luke and Simon find themselves alienated from people they called friends, and their ranch comes under a series of attacks. As the town’s hatred and homophobia turns on them, Luke and Simon will face a critical choice: give in to the town’s demands and disappear, or stand and fight for themselves and their love.


Aine's Review:

Morning Report by Sue Brown is the journey of Luke, the manager of The Lost Cow Ranch, and Simon, his foreman and lover, as they struggle to save their ranch from bigots and homophobes. Luke and Simon met 10 years ago when they became college roommates and after an almost bar fight, ended up lovers. Once they graduated, they both moved to the Lost Cow and have been working and loving together ever since.
The local church in their small community gets a new preacher and from there everything goes down hill. Stores refuse to sell to the men, a dinner refuses service to Simon, their ranch is repeatedly attacked, even their cattle were poisoned. Through it all they fight for their ranch and to protect their loved ones, but it takes a toll on their love and faith in each other after a time.

Having said all that, Morning Report is a H-O-T, loving, powerful read that I absolutely adored. I read this out of order (Complete Faith is book 2 of this series and also a must read!) which I would not suggest because it makes you antsy for certain things to happen and one person in particular to appear, lol.

Sue has woven a wonderful story with hot cowboys, love conquering hate, engaging read. Just remember, iced tea to cool you down as these sexy boys have a bit of D/s to their lovemaking and wow, do they take advantage of each other ev-ery-where!


--

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to Coffee Beans & Love Scenes (“CBLS”) Reviews free of charge by the author in exchange for an honest review of this title. No money has been exchanged for this review. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of any other CBLS reviewer or this blog’s owner, editor or administrator.

"Cupid Christmas" by Lex Valentine

Title: Cupid Christmas
Author: Lex Valentine
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Sub-Genre: Pink Petal Books
Length: 42 pages
Heat Rating: Erotic
Rating: 4.5 Cups

Available at:
Amazon | B&N | Pink Petal Books | ARe

Blurb:
It’s another Christmas at Forbes Ranch and this year the family is playing Cupid with Grayson and Jared’s best friend Steve Yarrow. Years before, Steve’s heart was broken by the love of his life Dalton Emory who left him to further his career by marrying a woman with a rich daddy. Now, divorced, outed and publicly humiliated, Dalton is trying to build a business and keep a low profile. He doesn’t believe he deserves a second chance with Steve after the way he hurt him. However, Dalton didn’t reckon with his former lover’s interfering friends, the depth of Steve’s love nor the forgiveness the spirit of Christmas can offer. Can one lonely, broken cowboy forgive himself and accept the love that has always belonged to him? And will the Forbes tradition of Christmas Eve Happily Ever Afters give Steve and Dalton the future they never thought they’d have?


Gabrielle's Review:

Dalton and Steve have a rocky past. Young and inexperienced they both come together for some fun and when Dalton throws it all away for money he soon finds that his relationship with Steve was so much more than just fun. Little does he realize that Steve has been harboring feelings all these years for him as well. This Christmas their good friends decide that they want the two men to find the love and trust that they lost so many years ago.

Cupid Christmas brings us a wonderful story full of emotions. I was immersed in Dalton and Steve’s story right from the start. The love that the men share is strong. Steve fights for it but Dalton must get past his mistakes and self-loathing or he just might loose the love that he longs for. I enjoyed watching the two men reconnect and fight for their love. Seeing Dalton come back from the brink with the help of Steve made for a nice read. Lex Valentine does a wonderful job of bringing the characters and their world to life. I loved this visit to the Forbes Ranch and hope that I get to come back again.


--

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to Coffee Beans & Love Scenes (“CBLS”) Reviews free of charge by the author in exchange for an honest review of this title. No money has been exchanged for this review. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of any other CBLS reviewer or this blog’s owner, editor or administrator.

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

"Hold Tight (Willow Springs Ranch #2)" by Laura Harner

Title: Hold Tight(Willow Springs Ranch #2)
Author: Laura Harner
Publisher: Hot Corner Press
Sub-Genre: GLBT Romance
Length: 140 pages
Heat Rating: Erotic
Rating: 5 Cups

Available at:
Amazon | B&N | All Romance eBooks

Blurb:
Sheriff Holden Titus had organized his fresh start down to the last detail. Except for the part about the bomb that blew his plans all to hell. Now he’s running out of time, without a job, without a home, and struggling to get back on his feet. Literally.

Despite the impolite rejection, Drew knows he didn’t have the wrong impression months ago when he asked the sheriff to dance, but he never expected to have Holden’s life in his hands. Literally.

Thanks to some meddlesome matchmaking, the two men are now temporary housemates at the Willow Springs Ranch and Drew is determined to help Holden heal, both physically and emotionally. Even if it means he has to drag the other man kicking and screaming to physical therapy…and out of the closet. In fact, that might be kind of fun.

The problem is, Holden doesn’t consider himself in the closet…but not all secrets are created equal.



Molly's Review:
This author has extremely talented skills. She instantly captured with a twist of suspense, keeping me hooked the entire story. These sexy gay cowboys work their way to a special place deep in your heart, where they'll leave you feeling every emotion and thought they have.

Sheriff Holden Titus is sheriff no more. After helping out with Ty and Cass's crinimal, he's recuperating from a devestating explosion at their ranch. Once a very independent, deep-in-the-closet guy who has a secret, the sexy ex-sheriff is forced to move onto the ranch, accepting a job from Ty & Cass. What he wasn't counting on, though, was seeing Dr. Drew Van again-the sexy as sin vet.

Drew knows a gorgeous gay man when he sees one, so he thought nothing of askign the tall, dark cop to dance at the night club. But, what he doesn't need is a guy firmly rooted in the closet holding onto secrets from him. When he finds Holden after the explosion, he does everything he can to keep him alive, and then not tell him when he's better that it was him who saved his life. After Holden moved to the Willow Springs Ranch, he's hesitant to take Ty & Cass up on their offer of living quarters....especially after learning he's gonna have to shack up with the grumpy ex-sheriff (can we say matchmaker best friends?!).

Holden and Drew's paths are always crossing, especially when Drew assigns himself as Holden's Physical Therapy enforcer. Trouble is, Holden can't quit fantasizing about the creamy fleshed vet. Should he let go and admit all he wants to do is hold tight to the vet and never let go; entrusting him with his secret and life? Or should he get out of dodge before hearts are further invested?

I adored every page turn of this sexy, incredibly written book! Hot, hot passion and caring mixed with the perfect amount of suspense, this is most definitely a highly recommended must read! While this is the second in the Willow Springs Ranch series, it's certainly not confusing. The author drops hints at previous events keeping the reader up to date, so it's easily a stand-a-lone, and one that is forever on my favorites list! Well done, Ms. Harner!





--

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to Coffee Beans & Love Scenes (“CBLS”) Reviews free of charge by the author in exchange for an honest review of this title. No money has been exchanged for this review. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of any other CBLS reviewer or this blog’s owner, editor or administrator.

"Doubtless" by Cat Grant

Title: Doubtless
Author: Cat Grant
Publisher: Riptide Publishing
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: 53 pages
Heat Rating: Erotic
Rating: 5 Cups

Available at:
Amazon | B&N | Riptide Publishing | All Romance eBooks

Blurb:
On the surface, Steve Campbell seems to have it all: a beautiful home, a snazzy car, and a dream job as one of the country’s top 3-D optics researchers. But underneath, he’s restless and dissatisfied, tired of empty encounters with leggy lab assistants and endless evenings alone.

A chance meeting with a handsome escort lifts Steve’s spirits and opens his eyes to his long-repressed attraction to men—and his love for his best friend and business partner, Connor Morrison.

Connor might’ve loved Steve like that once, but now it’s too late for their happily ever after; Connor’s about to ask his boyfriend to marry him. Fortunately, it's never too late to learn about yourself, and maybe Steve can find a happy ending on his own.



Molly's Review:
Having just read Grant's Priceless, the first book in her Irresistible Attraction series, I couldn't wait to get my hands on Steve's story. He played a (major!) secondary role in Priceless, but I just knew there was more to him. Sitting down and opening the story I was, once again, swept away by the incredible happenings of m/m romance that Ms. Grant creates. This time she mixes in the deep emotional level of finding out one's true self and coming to terms with the outcome.

As much as I loved Connor and Wes's story, I'm totally invested in Steve's. My heart heart went out to him so many times in this short story. After an incident in the shower, Steve finds himself questioning his life. When a chance encounter at a local bar helps him put his life in perspective, he finally learns who he truly is. But, sadly, it doesn't help him with the true feelings he has in his heart. A man who sells his time and body, teaches Steve that letting go and embracing life, along with some encouragement from his best friend, will help him to be happy.

I don't want to give away spoilers, so I'll stop there. Once again, Cat Grant has written an absolutely incredible m/m romance. While this story's ending left me nearly in tears, I'm on the edge of my seat, waiting for the next book in this series. My fingers are crossed that we get to see more of the sexy Steve!





--

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to Coffee Beans & Love Scenes (“CBLS”) Reviews free of charge by the author in exchange for an honest review of this title. No money has been exchanged for this review. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of any other CBLS reviewer or this blog’s owner, editor or administrator.

"Training Ivy " by Karen Mercury

Title: Training Ivy
Author: Karen Mercury
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
Sub-Genre: Historical Romance
Length: 171 pages
Heat Rating: Erotic
Rating: 4 Cups

Available at:
Amazon | B&N | Siren-Bookstrand

Blurb:
The railroad thunders into the open wilds of Laramie City, Wyoming, ushering in chaos and psychic upheaval for Deputy Neil Tempest who is attempting to bring order to the lawless Hell on Wheels town.

Ivy is the first of four Hudson daughters to break away from her dull life back East. A spinster after caring for her dying mother, she arrives amidst a flurry of strange murders. When the spirit of a rancher’s murdered wife sets her sights on Neil, no one can tell if her clues are a help or a hindrance.

They team up with Captain Harland Park, a dashing and adventurous surveyor. Booted from the British Army for writing a scandalous report on male brothels, Harley seduces the couple with tales from an Arabian love manual. They take spirit photographs and engage in lively séances, and a whirlwind of prophecies guides them into intrigue and love.



Molly's Review:
Ms. Mercury is a new-to-me author, but this will most definitely not be the last time that I read her work! While I will admit that the beginning of this first book was slightly confusing for me, it did progress nicely, captivating me to the very end. I fell in love with Ivy, Neil and Harland; each working their way into my heart and gripping it.

Neil, an Aussie and head of security in the new Laramie City, is getting quite frustrated with hearing about all these prophecies from a half-wit named Zeke. He keeps rattling on about a "seer" and the prophecies that he's witnessing as coming true. Neil just wants to progress with the railroad coming to town. But, then he lays eyes on gorgeous Ivy Hudson.....and the handsome surveyor Harland Park. Sadly, now he has to invest time in investigating a murder....and silly seances' that Mr. Park and Miss Hudson insist on partaking in. All he wants is to find the murderer, court Ivy......and seduce Harland?

Ivy. Now that is a character who, at 31, is quite innocent in most all matters of sexual feelings. Tired of being compared to her 3 sisters, she travels to Laramie to live with her father there. What she finds is odd-minded men, spiritual photography, seances', murders.....and two of the sexiest men she's ever laid eyes on. She definitely can't deny the attraction she feels to both men; or the way her heart feels when she sees them together in the most perverse ways.

Then there's Harland Park. That character is quite complex, to say the least! Delving in more carnal desires than most, and having practice in sexual ways (both with men and women!), has left him very lustful for the fairer sexed maiden, Ivy.......and the good looking head of security. But, with all sorts of paranormal occurences, he's trying to seduce Neil...and Ivy. He keeps drifting to thoughts of the two people who now hold his affection and how he can teach them so much.

When Harland corners Neil in the kitchen, he shows him that there's something to the attraction between them. Together, they form a bond with Ivy, working together to solve a murder....and train the innocent young woman about passion and love.

This 4 star book is filled with humorous moments, hot, sexy passion, paranormal occurences and mystery. Just when you think you're about to know who the murderer is, something new comes into play for these 3 amazing characters; be it a new clue or new passion. Definitely recommended to all who love sexy western men, beautiful women and a passionately sizzling plot line. I can't wait to get to book 2 in this sizzling, sexy historical series!





--

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to Coffee Beans & Love Scenes (“CBLS”) Reviews free of charge by the author in exchange for an honest review of this title. No money has been exchanged for this review. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of any other CBLS reviewer or this blog’s owner, editor or administrator.

Sunday, August 5, 2012

"Sub-Mission" by Sage Marlowe

Title: Sub-Mission
Author: Sage Marlowe
Publisher: Total E-bound
Sub-Genre: GLBT BDSM Romance
Length: 152 Pages
Heat Rating: Erotic
Rating: 5 Cups

Available at:
Total E-bound

Blurb:
How far would you go to save the one you love?

Pierce Hollister is a down-to-earth businessman. Most of the time. His romantic side has him secretly dreaming of Mr Right, a family and happy ever after.

Noah Conway is a single father who doesn't believe in happy families anymore. When his daughter's life is at stake, he would sell his soul to save her but as a sadistic Dom takes an interest in him, he sells his body instead.

A shared session at a BDSM club leaves Pierce intrigued and soon he finds himself willing to do anything in his power to heal the wounds that life has left on Noah's soul. When he realises that the very thing Noah dreads the most might just be what he needs, Pierce sets out on a mission – but maybe it's just not in his power to save Noah.

Will Noah be able to battle the demons that haunt him and find the happy ever after Pierce has dreamed up for them?



Molly's Review:
Holy cow! I absolutely adored this book by the talented Sage Marlowe! From start to finish, I was engrossed in this book and literally had it finished in one day. The characters among these pages are absolutely full of flaws and complexity. Marlowe blended this sexy men with a plot line that will blow you away. It's not a sappy love story....no, far from it. One of these gorgeous men comes with baggage and a past that will leave you reeling, and one of these men....well he adores the other anyway and wants nothing more than to prove his love.

Noah Conway is a 25 year old single father of a beautiful little girl. Trouble is, she's sick. He'll do anything, no matter what it is, to make the money for an operation. Degrading himself, he accepts money. His job? To be a Dom's play toy, accepting horrible pain and dealing with some terrible things during this time. All he can remember is that his daughter is sick and he's doing this for her. He won't abandoned her for anything.

Pierce Hollister isn't really into the Dom-sub scene but he browses his brother's club from time to time looking for someone he can get cozy with. Then he lays his eyes on the gorgeous Noah. It surprises him to see someone so alpha being submissive to a sadistic Dom. When the fates have him bumping into the sexy Noah again, he's surprised to learn he has a daughter. After the man is gay, right? Noah seems more the type to have an equal relationship rather than the one he saw him in last time, being used and abused by a horrible Dom.

What Pierce learns in his pursuit of the handsome Noah is so much more than he could have imagined. Finding himself falling in love with Noah, he's hurt when he catches Noah cheating on him. Through pain, tears and heartache, Pierce tries to move on. Trouble is, he wants a family and that family he wants is Noah and his daughter Pheobe. When he finds out that Noah has changed his life and moved past the pain of his past, Pierce wants to trust in him again. Can he? Will he find his one true love and family in Noah and his daughter? Or will his Sub-Mission goal be for naught?

I absolutely adored this intense, dark romance book. It's filled with heartache and pain, but it's more than that. It's about finding yourself, letting go and capturing the one thing that you want: love. Through intense devotion and utter support, Pierce is the perfect match for the independent pain filled Noah. This is most definitely a 5 star book that is high on my recommendation list if you are looking a for a m/m romance that will grip you completely!





--

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to Coffee Beans & Love Scenes (“CBLS”) Reviews free of charge by the author in exchange for an honest review of this title. No money has been exchanged for this review. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of any other CBLS reviewer or this blog’s owner, editor or administrator.

Thursday, August 2, 2012

"Kissing Joan Collins" by Lex Valentine

Title: Kissing Joan Collins
Author: Lex Valentine
Publisher: MLR Press
Sub-Genre: GLBT
Length: 66 pages
Heat Rating: Erotic
Rating: 4.5 Cups

Available at:
Amazon | B&N | MLR Press | All Romance eBooks

Blurb:
Gay suspense author Logan Moore fell in love with the most perfect gay man ever during his freshman year in college. But his roommate and best friend Chase Courtland never showed an interest in him. Twelve years and a handful of failed relationships later, Logan acknowledges that he still loves Chase. When Chase puts on a designer dress, four-inch heels and a wig and transforms himself into Joan Collins for a Valentine's Day masquerade party, Logan's libido rockets out of control. One look at Chase's perfect ass in the skin tight dress and Logan is ready to drag him off to bed. But can two best friends bridge the gap of a dozen years of denial and build a life together after one amazing night of revelations, confessions and love?



Meingee's Review:
Logan and Chase have been best friends since they met many years ago. Both men have hid their true feelings for each other for twelve years. When Chase finally reaches the end of his rope he decides to bite the bullet and show Logan just how much he cares for him. Now if only Logan can admit his feelings as well. Can the two men find love and their happy ever after or is it too late?

When I pick up a book by this author I know that I am in for a great ride. This story is full of emotions and the love that the two men feel is so strong it is almost a tangible thing. Chase puts his heart on the line and serves it up to Logan on a platter and can only hope that Logan does not refuse it. I loved both Logan and Chase and would be hard pressed to pick just one of them. Logan and Chase are both great men who finally get a taste of what they have been longing for all these years and each man is more than willing to fight for the love that they have found. I enjoyed watching both men find their way to each other and their happy ever after. I loved seeing the romance bloom and the trust between them strengthen. We get a wonderful romance as well as one hot read with this book. The men come vividly to life as we see the depth of their friendship and how it becomes much more making this a book that should be in everyone’s library.





--

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to Coffee Beans & Love Scenes (“CBLS”) Reviews free of charge by the author in exchange for an honest review of this title. No money has been exchanged for this review. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of any other CBLS reviewer or this blog’s owner, editor or administrator.

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

"When I Fall (An Uncommon Whore 2)" by Belinda McBride

Title: When I Fall (An Uncommon Whore 2)
Author: Belinda McBride
Publisher: Loose ID
Sub-Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
Length: 154 pages
Heat Rating: Erotic
Rating: 4 Cups

Available at:
Amazon | B&N

Blurb:
As king, Helios Dayspring is desperate to secure the future of his people and their new homeworld. His lost memories are slowly returning, bringing with them danger and betrayal.

As the king’s consort, Griffin Hawke wrestles with growing isolation from his lover. When Helios’s secrets begin to come to light, Griffin finds that he barely recognizes him anymore. And Griffin is haunted by his own secrets, nightmares that bring torture and death in his sleep.

Surrounded by enemies and allies, seductive aliens and dangerous operatives, Helios and Griffin find themselves tested to their physical and moral limits. Not knowing who to trust, they can only turn to each other.

Will you be there to catch me when I fall?

pechedete's Review:
Helios Dayspring and Griffin Hawke are settling in to their new roles on Neo Domus. While Lio's memories haven’t returned,some things are coming back due to the amount of practice he received while training to be a priest. Not everyone is happy that Lio has returned and, due to his faulty memory, he’s not sure who he can trust. This begins to cause problems with Griffin because he knows that Lio’s keeping things from him; he just can’t figure out why.

I loved learning more about Astrum as well as the cast of characters introduced in An Uncommon Whore. Ms. McBride explained more about the invasion of Arash and the vulnerability of both the Astrums and Talisians face on Neo Domus. While I enjoyed the interactions between Lio and Griffin, it was the secondary characters such as Carlotta, Raven, and Caius that made When I Fall work for me. The introduction of the new races and the unanswered questions appear to be the perfect setup for a third book in this series, which I hope Ms. McBride will write.

When I Fall is the second book in the Uncommon Whore series and is a solid read. There is enough back story that it can be read alone. However, I would suggest that you read An Uncommon Whore as it is simply a captivating story.
--

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to Coffee Beans & Love Scenes (“CBLS”) Reviews free of charge by the author in exchange for an honest review of this title. No money has been exchanged for this review. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of any other CBLS reviewer or this blog’s owner, editor or administrator.

Saturday, November 12, 2011

The Cabin by Jonanthan Welford


Title: The Cabin
Author: Jonathan Welford
Sub-Genre(s): Contemporary, Gay, Paranormal, Suspense
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publication Date: November 1, 2011
ISBN #: B0062K1WMC
Format: eBook from Author
Reviewer: Dawne
Rating: 4 Cups

Blurb:*
Hank and Bill are looking to buy their first home together, a weekend cabin in the mountains. They enlist the help of their realtor, Mitch, but they're in for a surprise in what he shows them.

Mitch looks at this couple with interest and relives fond moments of his own relationship. It is only when he thinks that they are the appropriate people does he show them their perfect cabin, but it's not all it seems.

Review:
This is the first novella I have read of upcoming author Jonathan Welford and definitely NOT the last. Welford weaves a fabulous sweet love story between the two men, Hank and Bill, in The Cabin, although I wish more background into the men's lives was offered. The reader is welcomed into supporting character Mitch's life at a perfect pace and allowed the comfort of getting to know him. Very well crafted in my opinion.

The mystery of Mitch is never explained but leaving the reader's imagination to wonder a few questions, which I love. While no antagonist is visible, I don't believe one was necessary. The flippant secretary, Martha was an arrant touch to the ending of the story.

Welford is an author to watch in the near future and I applaud the sweet and sensual M/M connection in The Cabin. So many times a good read and romance is over-flooded with too much sex and Welford's beautifully crafted tale had just the precise amount of sexual affection to please the palate.

Available at:
Amazon (Kindle Edition)


--

*Blurb Courtesy of Amazon

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to Coffee Beans & Love Scenes Reviews free of charge by the author. No money has been exchanged for the review of this eBook. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the other C&R reviewers or this blog’s administrator/editor.

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

A Second Chance, by Michael Mandrake


Title: A Second Chance
Author: Michael Mandrake
Sub-Genre(s): Contemporary, M/M
Publisher: XOXO Publishing
Publication Date: July 16, 2011
ISBN #: 9781927027363
Format: eBook from Author
Reviewer: Dawne
Rating: 4 Cups

Blurb:*
Two cops who’ve lost their partners in the line of duty and life are both lonely but hesitant about beginning a relationship with someone new. Will one of them accept the others proposition to start over or remain alone because of their places on the police force?

Review:
This is the first writing of Mandrake that I've read and I must admit, I was pleased with what he had to offer. Mandrake kept the story/plot flowing at a fast-paced rate. The emotions, feelings and hesitation felt between Farris and Daniel can be felt in every scene. From Farris losing a precious partner/lover to Daniel's wavering of having a relationship with Farris, Mandrake develops a nice repertoire between the men. The dialogue, while slow at first, did expand to express both mens' feelings.

This quick read is recommended for someone who wants to get promptly lost for a moment with a happily ever after ending.

Available at:
Amazon (Kindle Edition)

--

*Blurb Courtesy of Goodreads

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to C&R Romance eBook Reviews free of charge by the author. No money has been exchanged for the review of this eBook. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the other C&R reviewers or this blog’s administrator/editor.

Thursday, September 15, 2011

A Nanny for Nate, by Lisa Worrall


Title: A Nanny for Nate
Author: Lisa Worrall
Sub-Genre(s): Contemporary, Erotic, M/M
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publication Date: June 18, 2011
ISBN #: 9781920501587
Format: eBook from Author
Reviewer: Dawne
Rating: 5 Cups

Blurb:*
A year after his husband is killed in a hit and run, the only thing keeping Parker Adams going is his work and their son, Nate. When his regular child minder moves away, he hires a live in nanny to give Nate more stability. Due to a mix up with the envelopes, it isn't the petite Melanie that turns up on his doorstep. Opening the door and finding six feet six of Jake Walsh on the stoop fills Parker with panic. Not that Jake wasn't perfect for the job; he was. A little too perfect, with his dark brown eyes and easy going nature. Which is why Parker had purposely decided to give the job to the other candidate. In the half an hour of his interview, Jake Walsh had awoken feelings in Parker that he had thought were gone forever. How was he going to cope with the man under his roof twenty-four-seven?

Review:
This was an extremely fast-paced read, despite it being 120 pages. Lisa Worrall had me hooked from the moment little Nate couldn't sleep from a bad dream. * sigh* What's not to love about a precocious little boy who is scared.

While it was a quick read (most novellas are), I wish Worrall would have developed the relationship between Parker Adams and Jake Walsh just a tad bit more. She had me swept under with their moving romance and tenderness, but I would've loved to have seen their interaction more intense; however, I give her two-thumbs up for keeping the past and memories alive with Nate and Parker and for writing a realistic plot that kept me enthralled from start to finish.

This was a nice heartwarming romance tale between the two men but the added scenarios with Nate made the story enjoyable. Worrall has a sensuous writing style that I have come to appreciate and savor. This is a definite must-read for all lovers of romance, tender and erotic.

Available at:
Amazon (Kindle Edition)
Barnes & Noble (Nook book)

--

*Blurb Courtesy of Goodreads

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to C&R Romance eBook Reviews free of charge by the author. No money has been exchanged for the review of this eBook. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the other C&R reviewers or this blog’s administrator/editor.

Snowbound, by Scarlet Blackwell


Title: Snowbound
Author: Scarlet Blackwell
Sub-Genre(s): Contemporary, M/M
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publication Date: August 6, 2011
ISBN #: 9781920501167
Format: eBook from Author
Reviewer: Dawne
Rating: 5 Cups

Blurb:*
Hayden Berry is lost in a small South Dakota town after crashing his car, when he is rescued by Deputy Sheriff Dylan Hubble and taken home for the night. One night turns into two when they are snowed in and instant attraction turns into life-long love.

But Hayden isn't free to be with Dylan and he leaves, the memory of that winter casting a shadow over the rest of his life.

Review:
Scarlet Blackwell interweaves two men's lives perfectly in this winter classic. The way she adds the twist of Hayden being married to a woman, was a nice change of pace for an erotic M/M novella. I commend Blackwell for permitting a possible one-night (actually two nights) stand to evolve into a real relationship of love and trust.

When Hayden returns to his wife, his thoughts are with Dylan and Blackwell lets the emotions of Hayden show, in a very compassionate and realistic way. The breaking of the heart and lies strewn about are believable and heart-wrenching to the reader.

This was the first Blackwell novel I've read but will NOT be the last. I applaud Blackwell's writing style, dialogue and character strengths. She is definitely an author on her way up in the publishing world.

Available at:
Amazon (Kindle Edition)
Barnes & Noble (Nook book)

--

*Blurb Courtesy of Goodreads

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to C&R Romance eBook Reviews free of charge by the author. No money has been exchanged for the review of this eBook. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the other C&R reviewers or this blog’s administrator/editor.

Game Over, by Cassandre Dayne


Title: Game Over
Author: Cassandre Dayne
Sub-Genre(s): BDSM, Contemporary, Erotic, Interracial/African-American, M/M, M/M/M, Multiple Partners
Publisher: Rebel Ink Press
Publication Date: June 14, 2011
ISBN #: Unknown
Format: eBook from Author
Reviewer: Gabrielle
Rating: 4 Cups

Blurb:*
Tony Dartanion kept his private life hidden from the majority of the world. A decorated detective in the grittiest precinct in Philadelphia, Tony was hungry to make Captain and willing to do almost anything to get the title. Unfortunately however, the precinct had a "don't ask, don't tell" policy that enraged Tony and forced him to hide for years. In fact, his brothers in blue believe Tony's a card-carrying member of the chasing skirts and stilettos club. But the truth is, Tony's in love with a man he barely acknowledges outside the bedroom.

Tony knew his lover, Caelen Tomlin, was tired of being a dirty little secret. In the beginning, he and Caelen savored a highly erotic relationship and now, if Tony were being honest, they were barely more than friends. Realizing he was going to lose the golden haired model he adored if he didn't change his ways, Tony planned an event to remind Caelen exactly why they were together. With Tony determined to change his ways and meet Caelen's every need, who could have thought Caelen would refuse the invitation and that his actions would force Tony to make an excruciating choice?

Review:
Tony and Caelen have been a couple for some time now but Caelen is tired of hiding. He realizes Tony’s need for discretion but can no longer be the hidden secret. When Tony discovers this he decides that he will do anything to save their relationship and anything is just what he does. Tony takes them to a wonderful night at the club called Sealed with A Kiss, a club where anything goes. Will Tony’s attempt to rekindle the love and lust that they once had or will Caelen walk away?

Not only is this story a hot read but you are also treated to a romance. Tony and Caelen love each other very much and it shows in everything that they do and share together. Tony is a strong man who is willing to do anything for Caelen. The two are a wonderful couple, so devoted to each other. It was nice to see just how far Tony would go to show Caelen the depth of his love.

While this story has a good plot and hot scenes I had a hard time connecting to the characters making it hard for me to immerse myself into the story. I think that a little more character development would have helped me enjoy the story a bit more. Even with this I still enjoyed this authors writing style and will look for more stories in the future that may catch my eye.

Available at:
Amazon (Kindle Edition)
Barnes & Noble (Nook book)

--

*Blurb Courtesy of Goodreads

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to C&R Romance eBook Reviews free of charge by the author. No money has been exchanged for the review of this eBook. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the other C&R reviewers or this blog’s administrator/editor.

Monday, September 5, 2011

Who Better than Canyon, by DC Juris


Title: Who Better than Canyon
Author: DC Juris
Sub-Genre(s): Contemporary, M/M
Publisher: Breathless Press
Publication Date: June 17, 2011
ISBN #: 9781926930480
Format: eBook from Author
Reviewer: Dawne
Rating: 4 Cups

Blurb:*
Can Canyon and Simon set aside their fears and their pasts to see what lies between them, or will they miss out on their happily ever after?

When Canyon's ex-lover, Robert, dies, he leaves behind a last request that Canyon take word of his passing to Simon, an old friend on the east coast. Canyon reluctantly agrees, and soon finds himself falling for Simon, despite the nagging belief he shouldn't. Canyon is plagued by guilt over his part in the accident that claimed Robert's life. But Simon knows something Canyon doesn't: Robert's death wasn't an accident, but a suicide, and Robert's intent was for the two men he left behind to come together. But Robert's plan didn't account for two things: Simon's disbelief that anyone can truly love a soon-to-be-cripple, and Canyon's staunch decision that the next man he gives himself to will give him a wedding ring first. Can Canyon and Simon set aside their own issues long enough to see what lies between them, or will they both miss out on their happily ever after?

Review:
DC Juris' premises for Who Better than Canyon is perfect. Two ex-lovers of one man meet after the man passes away. Even on his deathbed the man knows these two are perfect for each other. Juris captures both Canyon and Simon's emotions perfectly, from when Canyon throws Robert's left behind belongings out for the garbage pickup but when he hears thunder, he can't live with himself if his lover's items got wet so he retrieves the items, to how Simon wants to show Canyon how to love the sea. Emotions are felt and revealed.

Juris moved the story a little too quickly without allowing the two men's relationships and love to blossom. Although I do love Juris' writing style, and the dialogue and individual character development is superb, I would have loved to have seen Canyon and Simon's relationship develop more fully. I do applaud Juris for this novel. Her creativity is seen and I looked forward to reading more of her work.

Available at:
Amazon (Kindle Edition)

--

*Blurb Courtesy of Goodreads.

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to CBLS Reviews free of charge by the author. No money has been exchanged for the review of this eBook. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the other CBLS reviewers or this blog’s administrator/editor.

Meant for Each Other, by D.H. Starr


Title: Meant for Each Other
Author: D.H. Starr
Sub-Genre(s): Contemporary, Erotic, M/M
Publisher: Ai Press
Publication Date: November 7, 2010
ISBN #: 9781456346003
Format: eBook from Author
Reviewer: Dawne
Rating: 5 Cups

Blurb:*
Sometimes your first love is the one that was meant to be.
Craig Harper and Jeremy Finn were best friends growing up. They attended the same school, spent all of their time together, and hung out with the same group of people. It wasn't until the day before Jeremy and his family moved across the country that they discovered their attraction to one another.

Fifteen years later, they reunite by chance in New York City. Both are in relationships and have established a routine in their lives. But routines and relationships are shaken as they begin to spend time together once again. Old feelings and connections are still strong and the passion that pulls them together is a powerful, soul-searing call neither man can deny.

As each deals with the issues in their own relationships, they begin to question whether the comfort of what they know is more powerful than the pull of what they could have been...and what they might become. Struggling to find the answer, only their hearts can reveal if they are meant for each other.

Review:
D.H. Starr does an astounding job telling the story of life-long best friends. His writing style entwines the reader into the story, makes the reader feel empathy and shows unconditional love and fidelity between the two men, Craig and Jeremy. From the beginning of the story, Starr had me privately rooting for the happily ever after ending. To say that Starr got me emotionally involved with the two men is an understatement.

I think men and women alike will relate to this story. First love lost. First love found. Act upon that love and face all challenges that come your way. The way Starr delves into these two men's lives was a “WOW” moment for me. The real life dialogue was heart-wrenching and the plot so believable that it seems as though I was there with the men.

I highly recommend this book and definitely look forward to future work by Starr.

Available at:
Amazon (Kindle Edition)
Barnes & Noble (Nook Book)

--

*Blurb Courtesy of Goodreads.

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to CBLS Reviews free of charge by the author. No money has been exchanged for the review of this eBook. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the other CBLS reviewers or this blog’s administrator/editor.

Sunday, August 21, 2011

Keeping House (Truth or Dare, Book 1), by Lee Brazil


Title: Keeping House (Truth or Dare, Book 1)
Author: Lee Brazil
Sub-Genre(s): Contemporary, Erotic, M/M
Publisher: Breathless Press
Publication Date: May 5, 2011
ISBN #: 9781926930466
Format: eBook from Author
Reviewer: Bethany
Rating: 4 Cups

Blurb:*
Mischa knew his brothers were up to something. He didn't know it would lead him to Donovan Holloway and change his carefree lifestyle forever.

Donovan Holloway, advertising executive, newly made vice president of the company where he's worked for twenty years, grew up in a free love hippie commune, taking care of the parents who should have been taking care of him. He's worked hard to put himself through school and achieve the American dream. All he's ever wanted was a normal family life—house in the suburbs, two cars, two kids, a shaggy dog. A family to come home to—to care for, and to care for him.

Mischa Blake is the green eyed, liberally-pierced, black-haired, Mohawk-wearing spoiled youngest son of a Hollywood producer and his actress wife. Mischa has made a terrible mistake. In a fit of childish pique, he's accepted a dare from his older brothers. The dare? Live on his own, supporting himself completely for a year without accessing his trust fund. No problem. Except Mischa has never worked a day in his life, hasn't finished college, and has absolutely no skills that he can bring to the table.

So when he sees Donovan's ad for a housekeeper/gardener, he has nothing to lose by applying, because really...how hard can it be?

Review:
Misha Blake is rich, young and from a well-to-do to family of close-knit brothers who consider him spoiled. On their regular poker night, the brothers decide it’s time for their baby brother to grow up and instigate a little “game” of their own. Losing the hand, Misha was forced to play their version of Truth or Dare. Either enter into the family business or get a job and keep it for a full year without access to his hefty monthly allowance or his beloved Porshe. What did Misha decide? To find a job. The only trouble was that, as with all of us, finding one proved to be difficult. When a wealthy man advertised for not only a personal assistant but also a housekeeper/cook, Misha was determined to get hired.

I’m a huge fan of m/m pieces and enjoyed the combative nature of the brothers who initially seemed to be a bit arrogant but had the best interests of their wayward brother in their hearts. The passages where Misha tried to figure out about pots and pans and learned to cook were priceless and I could easily envision his angst. Donovan, the employer/love interest was engaging and sexy in his mannerisms. Where the piece lost some of its glow was in the fast paced aspect of the story. I wasn’t able to learn enough about our heroes and therefore unable to love them. I also thought the fact the two were a couple so quickly wasn’t as believable as it could have been. I believe Keeping House would have benefited from being a longer piece where the characters could grow along with the story. Still, I think Mr. Brazil’s writing style is fresh, well-written and engaging and I will read his works with pleasure again.

Available at:
Amazon (Kindle Edition)

--

*Blurb Courtesy of Goodreads.

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to CBLS Reviews free of charge by the author. No money has been exchanged for the review of this eBook. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the other CBLS reviewers or this blog’s administrator/editor.

Sunday, July 3, 2011

Leather Nights, by Patricia Logan


Title: Leather Nights (Armadillo, Book 1)
Author: Patricia Logan
Sub-Genre(s): BDSM, Contemporary, M/M
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publication Date: August 25, 2010
ISBN #: 9781610400343
Format: eBook from Author
Reviewer: Dawne
Rating: 5 Cups

Blurb:*
When widowed, jobless, and about to be homeless Jake Maxfield inherits his Aunt Becky's home in Texas, the California native uproots his teenagers and moves. Still trying to rebuild his career after the mortgage crises, and to reconnect with the kids he's been too busy for, the last thing Jake is looking for is love. Especially with a man.

Cade Littlebear isn't looking for love either, but he and Jake have an immediate attraction that neither of them are able to deny. Just when they think that combining their lives and their teenaged families is going to be their toughest challenge, their very existence is threatened by narrow-mined bigots. Their determination not to hide who they are and refusal to live in the shadows only adds fuel to the fire. Can Jake and Cade survive and bring their lives and families together? Or will hatred win the day?

Review:
Inheriting his Aunt Becky's home in Texas is a God-Send for down-on-his-luck Californian Jake Maxfield. Reeling from the crashing mortgage scene and trying to rebuild a relationship with his teenage kids, the last thing Jake was looking for was love. And not just any love...love with a man.

That man is Cade Littlebear.

Cade, also not looking for love, realizes the attraction he has to Jake. Both single men are raising teenagers and know the difficulties merging families can be especially when you add in the hatred for homosexual relationships where they reside. After deliberation not to hide their budding romance, the men deal with hostility and anger.

Logan writes an amazing story of love, companionship and human kinship that made me want more. The determination and perseverance Jake and Cade displayed was heart-warming and realistic. The way Logan built the tension (both through the love Jake and Cade shared and the bigotry from the residents) was traumatic and down-to-earth believable. The passion, obvious racism and life dilemmas are so descriptive, well- dialogued and beautifully written. While it may appear the men fall in love quickly, in real life, this does happen. We just don't admit to it whereas Logan showed how easily it can happen.

--

*Blurb Courtesy of Goodreads

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to C&R Romance eBook Reviews free of charge by the author. No money has been exchanged for the review of this eBook. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the other C&R reviewers or this blog’s administrator/editor.

Saturday, June 25, 2011

A Wicked Encounter, by Sammy Jo Hunt


Title: A Wicked Encounter
Author: Sammy Jo Hunt
Sub-Genre(s): M/M, Historical
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publication Date: April 2, 2011
ISBN #: 9781920484378
Format: eBook from Author
Reviewer: Dawne
Rating: 5 Cups

Blurb:*
Christopher Allwyne, Duke of Bellwood, stood to inherit a vast fortune. Still reeling from the loss of his parents and most recently, his Aunt Polly, the Duchess of Bellwood, the young noble found himself traveling in the dark of night to oversee Her Grace's funeral proceedings and to attend the reading of his aunt's will. Along the way, his carriage suffers a devastating accident, and a dark stranger comes to his aid and rescue. The Marquis Evan de Lombard, rich French nobleman, takes an instant interest in the handsome Christopher. Sharing a wicked encounter shortly after meeting, things look promising as love blooms between them. That is, until the Marquis reveals his true identity and purpose.

Once Christopher knows the truth, will he ever be able to forgive Evan and love him, despite the man's indiscretions? Torn apart by dishonesty, can love win out over betrayal and rise to the occasion, reuniting them for a lifetime of happiness? The cost for true love could be a price neither one is willing to pay.

Review:
Duke of Bellwood, Christopher Allwyne, will be a rich man soon. On his way to a funeral for his aunt, the Duchess of Bellwood, he encounter a mysterious stranger, the rich Marquis Evan de Lombard. During the travel, the men encounter a very seductive moment, leaving Allwyne bracing for love. The attraction between the men is obvious but it isn't until de Lombard reveals his true reasons for friending Allwyne that trouble ensues.

Hunt weaves a beautiful storyline with A Wicked Encounter. The dialogue, character connection and her writing style are perfectly crafted. Hunt draws in the reader with this M/M love story to a point that I couldn't stop reading once I started. The delectable characters made me want more and Hunt gave more. I recommend A Wicked Encounter and can honestly say, Hunt is a writer to watch in the future. Her refreshing style is a much needed voice in the M/M genre.

--

*Blurb Courtesy of Goodreads.

**Disclaimer: This book has been provided to C&R Romance eBook Reviews free of charge by the author. No money has been exchanged for the review of this eBook. This review reflects the opinion of the individual reviewer and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the other C&R reviewers or this blog’s administrator/editor.